Anyone under the age of 18 who rides a bicycle in Los Angeles must wear a helmet. Studies have shown that wearing a helmet significantly reduces the risk of suffering a catastrophic or fatal injury in the event of an accident. While adults are not legally required to wear a helmet, it is recommended to do so. Your ability to recover compensation could be jeopardized if you could have avoided your injury by wearing safety equipment. By law, in California, people over 18 years of age are not legally required to wear a bicycle helmet while riding a bicycle.
That said, it is highly recommended that you wear a helmet when riding a bike or when operating any legal two- or four-wheeled means of public transportation. Although this is only a legal requirement in California for minors, helmets are encouraged for everyone, as they protect the head and neck in the event of an accident and can reduce the likelihood of suffering serious injuries. Research shows that, in general, wearing a helmet while riding a bike reduces the likelihood of being seriously injured, in the event of an accident or otherwise. Children and teens 17 years old or younger should wear helmets only when riding on public roads, bike trails, or trails. It is strongly recommended that minors wear a bicycle helmet in all situations, even on private property.
California's bicycle helmet law applies to anyone under the age of 18 and includes children who ride in a bicycle seat or who are towed by a bicycle trailer. When you're traveling slower than traffic, California bicycle laws stipulate that you must give way to drivers by staying close to the sidewalk and always drive with the flow of traffic, never against it. Whether you're biking, walking, or driving on Los Angeles highways, it's important to understand these laws. Some municipalities in California have enacted their own laws on bicycle helmets, in addition to the state law relating to children 17 years of age or younger. California's youth helmet law applies to minors who ride bicycles on a street, bike path, sidewalk, or public road. It's illegal to drive on the sidewalk at any time inside a designated commercial area, but it's okay in residential neighborhoods.
Even if you're 18 years of age or older, you must legally wear an approved bike helmet with the proper fit to ride in accordance with the law. The majority (72.5%) of the amount that law enforcement agencies collect for fines for not wearing a bicycle helmet will go to an account in the county treasury, for use by the county health department. When driving on privately owned property, such as in the courtyard or in the driveway, helmet laws may not apply. When bicycle accidents occur, helmets can be critical to preventing serious head and brain injuries. If your bike isn't equipped with the proper safety devices, you may not be able to recover all the damage you suffer in an accident.